and Description of the Grounds
Walsrode (Walos-Rode) is a 10th century monastery founded by a Count Walo, probably belonging to the familiy Billung (Dukes of Brunswick-Lueneborg). The settlement was strategically placed at the ford across the river Boehme, in close proximity of which the monastery is located. In former times it provided shelter and lodgings for travelling merchants. Today the monastery is a women's religious foundation under the supervision of the Lower Saxon Chamber of Cloisters.
As the Boehme downs were swampy, the first farms were located on the surrounding hillocks and it is believed that one could have been at the location of today's Landhaus Walsrode.
The floor name "Bei Köhler's Hof" (Koehler's Lot) gives some indication towards one previous owner of the grounds as depicted in a 1816 map, but which is assumed to be significantly older. With the Wolff family´s acquisition of the grounds, in 1890, the farming period came to an end and the former stables were utilised differently. Only the cow shed was demolished. In 1912 the family made available a portion of the grounds for a Heath Museum, onto which an old farmhouse was relocated for one of Germanys first open air Museums.
From the Landhaus the guest looks across an extensive lawn area, surrounded by more then 100 year old rhododendrons, oaks, beeches and linden trees, at the gable-side of the thatched-roof Heath Museum. On making his rounds through the 5 acre park, past the "Horse Stable", "Bungalow", "Goose Pen" and "Chicken Pen" you will discover further, sometimes rare shrubs. Benches invite to linger contemplatively. Early mornings some guests close their windows, feeling disturbed by the songs of the abundant birdlife. This park, that is not reflected in the hotels number of stars awarded, is an integral part of the ambience of Landhaus Walsrode.
The main building is of half-timbered clay brickwork, with wooden boarding for protection from the elements. The old ground plan is still well visible. The entrance was next to today's fire place. To the left were located the three rooms of the farmers family - children's room, parental bedroom and spinning wheel room - and below two cellars. Today's hall and dining room once made up the threshing floor. The pump was located to border its exit at the northern broad side.
On August 4, 1979 the Landhaus opened as a hotel, 1983 the extension facing the Oskar-Wolff-Street was opened and since 1986 the atrium bungalow, built in 1964, has been an addition to the hotel, providing 30 beds in 18 rooms.
1934 the last horse "Ultimus" vacated the stable. Since 1945 it has been inhabited by humans. About 1895, the former chicken shed was converted into a residential building. Below the former chicken shed stands the one time goose shed for about 10 geese, directly in front of a large 400 year old oak tree. 1945/46 it was an emergency dwelling, now a garden shed.
During the refurbishment of the house, in which the family of a gardener, who had leased part of the grounds from 1931 to 1967, used to live, floor and roof provided proof that it may originally have been a sheepfold. Evidence of a fire suggested that the half timbering of the buildings south-side had once succumbed to fire and was subsequently replaced by a brick wall. The half timbering of the north-side is borne by mighty erratic blocks. We have taken up its former purpose for a name and converted the house into a conference and function building.
Be it inside the buildings or in the park - everywhere the guest will feel bewitched by the grace and beauty of the location, the style of the house's furnishings, the breath of history and the stories, that surrounds it all. This creates the unique ambience at